History of the FFL

In 2021, the Faculty of Foreign Languages will celebrate the 48th anniversary, marking another page in its rich and eventful past.

The roots of the Faculty stemmed from one of the significant dates in our history: in 1965 the evening department of the Romano-Germanic philology at the philological faculty of Donetsk State University was launched. 1973 was marked by bringing up the question of establishing a faculty on the basis of the Department of the Romano-Germanic Philology. At that time, graduates of many higher educational institutions (including Moscow, Kyiv, and Kharkiv State Universities, Maurice Thorez Moscow State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages, Horlivka State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages) worked at all departments of the Faculty. Due to the relocation to Vinnytsia in 2014, the Faculty staff was renewed with the help of graduates from different parts of Ukraine, mostly from Vinnytsia.

Nadiya Mykhailivna Pisarevska became the first dean of the Faculty heading the newly created unit from 1973 to 1976. From 1976 to 1987 the Faculty was headed by Ruf Valentinovna Yezhkova, the Candidate of Philological Sciences and Associate Professor. Since 1987, the Dean’s position of the FFL was passed to Volodymyr Dmytrovych Kaliushchenko, the Doctor of Philology, Professor, Academician of the National Academy of Higher Education Sciences of Ukraine, Honored Worker of Education of Ukraine. Since 2014, Maryana Yaroslavivna Olenyak, Candidate of Philological Sciences, Associate Professor, has become the Dean.

The Faculty graduates scientific and pedagogical staff of the highest qualification in postgraduate and doctoral studies in 2 specializations. From 2005 to 2014, the Faculty had the Specialized Academic Board for the defense of Candidate dissertations in Germanic languages and Comparative-historical and Typological Linguistics.


Nadiya Mykhailivna Pisarevska

Department of English Philology


Ruf Valentinovna Yezhkova  

Department of English Philology


Volodymyr Dmytrovych Kaliushchenko 

Department of German Philology


Mariana Yaroslavivna Oleniak

Department of Theory and Practice of Translation